Tecumseh took down John Marshall 55-52 to claim the Jones Invitational championship Saturday night.

The Tecumseh Savages had plenty of breathing room in their 58-point semifinal win over Elk City Friday night.

Saturday was a different story.

John Marshall played the Savages close throughout, but it was Class 4A’s fifth-ranked Tecumseh that came away with the 55-52 win and the title of Jones Invitational champions Saturday night.

Tecumseh got a 22-point contribution from Colton Owen, who went 11-of-17 from the field.

Alan Brewer, who was an offensive force for the first two games of the tournament, and teammate Julio Hukill drew tough defensive assignments against Class 4A No. 14 John Marshall’s standouts.

“[Brewer and Hukill] locked down their best players. I’ve got to give them credit,” THS head coach Eric Litherland said. “[John Marshall’s Trell] Parker had something like 36 points in their-first round game, but Alan really shut him down tonight.”

Parker was held to six points, while Hukill shut down leading scorer Tyler Harrison, who scored just seven.

John Marshall’s Devion Smith took over scoring duties for Parker and Harrison, pouring in 23 to lead all scorers.

John Marshall trailed by just four at halftime and three heading into the fourth quarter, but the Savages were able to stretch the lead to six before a last-second JMHS 3-pointer cut the final margin to three.

Hukill and Brewer, who hit three treys and two big free-throws in the fourth quarter, combined for 21 points on the offensive end, while Clayton Baquera dished out nine assists to go with three points.

Tecumseh, now 17-2 and owners of two in-season tournament titles, will stay home against Seminole next Tuesday.

Note: Report compiled by Chuck Porter.