Eight Seminole State students in MAT Honor Society.

Seminole State College’s Math Science and Engineering Division recently inducted students into the College’s new chapter of the Mu Alpha Theta National Mathematics Honor Society.

Kristian Brown of Prague, Rebecca Diven of Shawnee, Lucas Fletcher of Shawnee, Sydney Groth of Shawnee, Brandon Mills of Seminole, T.J. Morgan of Prague, Blayne Norman of Seminole and Lauren Spears of Shawnee were inducted as charter members into the national mathematics honor society of Mu Alpha Theta.

All eight students attended the induction ceremony that featured a special candle-lighting presentation in the College’s Enoch Kelly Haney Center.

Each student received an honors pin, certificate of achievement. Graduating students received cords to wear at the College’s commencement ceremony.

The society was started this year for students seeking mathematics intensive degrees. Students must have taken at least one mathematics course above the College Algebra level and at least a 3.0 GPA in all college mathematics courses taken at or above College Algebra level.

Math, Science and Engineering Chair Annette Troglin, Assistant Professor of Math, Science and Engineering Jarrod Tollett and Assistant Professor of Mathematics Dr. Linda Goeller are the sponsors of Mu Alpha Theta.

“I’m excited and honored to be a part of bringing Mu Alpha Theta to Seminole State College. The students inducted as charter members into this honor society are truly amazing,” said Troglin.

For more information regarding the Seminole State College mathematics intensive degree programs or Mu Alpha Theta, contact Troglin at (405) 382-9228 or a.troglin@sscok.edu, Tollett at (405) 382-9217 or j.tollett@sscok.edu or Dr. Goeller at (405) 382-9567 or l.goeller@sscok.edu.