Twenty-three students chosen for Leadership Class.

Seminole State College has chosen 23 students for Class VII of the SSC Presidential Leadership program. PLC is a two-year scholarship program created to help students develop leadership skills and provide personal and professional growth opportunities.

“The Presidential Leadership Class provides students with unique opportunities to foster their leadership skills while developing academic growth,” said Seminole State College President, Dr. James Utterback who instituted the program in 2007.

“We look forward to working with these outstanding students. They will have some great opportunities throughout the year to meet with state leaders, learn about state government and philanthropy, study leadership styles and volunteer their time,” he said.

The scholarship program was established to provide educational classroom and extracurricular activities to enhance leadership skills of students. Responsibilities of PLC members include volunteering for campus service programs and campus events.

School officials throughout the college’s service area of Seminole, Lincoln, Pottawatomie, Hughes and Okfuskee counties are invited by SSC President Utterback to nominate high school seniors as candidates for the scholarship program each year.

Other students are nominated by business owners and school officials. Participants are selected based on ACT scores, academic performance in high school and demonstrated leadership ability.

Members of the Presidential Leadership Class VII include: Corbin Austin, Shawnee; Angela Barlow, Shawnee; Armani Berry, Wewoka; Jacob Boggess, Piedmont; Suenju Buttram, Shawnee; Holly Carlile, Shawnee; Kade Davis, Seminole; Tyler Douthit, Seminole; Bailey Easley, Tecumseh; Gustavo Escobar, Jr., Yukon; Dylan Fazekas, Red Oak; Isaac Friesen, Louisville, Colorado; Jacey Goodnight, Seminole; Allyson Hanan, Seminole; Sierra O’Dell, Konawa; Destiny Prevost, Sasakwa; Dillon Shepherd, Seminole; Caleb Signorelli, Milfay; Carson Sosbee, Wewoka; Collin Taylor, Seminole; Joe Dell Williams, Henrietta, Texas; and Patricia Wright, Wewoka.

Sophomore members of PLC (Class VI) who are returning for their second year in the program include: Jerry Alexander, Hartshorne; Monica Belles, Seminole; Allen Blankenship, Ada; Mariah Bollinger, Seminole; Erin Bonner, Shawnee; Brian Hatcher, Shawnee; Dylan Helms, Eufaula; Conner Kean, Seminole; Kaliann Kincade, Wewoka; Trisha Kingsbury, Seminole; Paige McAlvain, Seminole; Clayton Powell, Stroud; and Nicholas Vassaur, Tecumseh.

The freshmen attended a half-day orientation session at the College prior to the start of classes.

They were also guests, along with their parents, at a reception held at the Jasmine Moran Children’s Museum on Tuesday, Aug. 27, where they heard about the history of the Museum and the importance of volunteerism from Executive Director Marci Donaho.

During the fall semester, they will take a class trip to watch the 1960s Civil Rights era film, “The Butler”; participate in a “ropes challenge course” team-building exercise; meet with Oklahoma author and philanthropist Reggie Whitten; volunteer at the Oklahoma Regional Food Bank; visit the Oklahoma Bureau of Narcotics and tour the McAlester Army Ammunition Plant.

At the end of the term, the class will attend a live musical production of “Tom Sawyer” at the Shawnee Little Theatre.

For more information about the PLC, contact SSC Vice President for Institutional Advancement Lana Reynolds, who serves as coordinator and sponsor of the program, at 405-382-9218 or at