Members celebrate accomplishments at annual 4-H banquet

Kody Silas, of Tecumseh, was recognized Tuesday night at the annual Pottawatomie County 4-H Achievement Banquet as this year’s recipient of the Senior Hall of Fame Award.

“It feels great,” Silas said.

Silas serves as the treasurer on the 2013-14 Pottawatomie County Officer Team. He won a variety of awards, including Outstanding Senior 4-Her, at the banquet but the Hall of Fame Award, which is sponsored by Randy and Suzanne Gilbert of Gilbert and Sons Trucking and Tecumseh Tag Agency, is the most sought after County Award among 4-Hers.

“I plan to stay involved after graduation,” Silas said, adding he plans on attending Oklahoma State University where he will major in Agricultural Engineering.

Michael Larson, of Tecumseh, serves as the Pottawatomie County president and opened the banquet as well as presented several awards.

The Shawnee Kiwanis Club was presented a gift for sponsoring the banquet. Larson thanked the Kiwanis Club for their continued support of the program.

“Our program has grown and become better from your efforts,” he said. “We are proud to work with the Kiwanis.”

DaLacy Dockerey, of Dale, was awarded a trip sponsored through the Pottawatomie County United Way to Washington D.C. The Citizenship Washington Focus trip’s focus is to provide education about citizenship and government.

Isaac Cagle, of Bethel, and Georgia Leford, of Tecumseh, won awards for Outstanding First Year 4-H members for completing a County Record book.

The winners for the Outstanding Junior 4-H members were Annahliese Bernier, Dairy Club, and Aimee Cagle, of Bethel.

Audrey Seeliger, Pottawatomie County United Way director, accepted two emerald awards, one for United Way and one awarded to her specifically.

“Audrey understands the importance of the 4-H program and the skills we are teaching youth,” Larson said.

The 2013-14 Pottawatomie County Officers are President Michael Larson, of Tecumseh; Vice-President Ansley Elliott, Pottawatomie County Performing Arts Club; Secretary Hadley Griffith, of Shawnee; Treasurer Kody Silas, of Tecumseh; Reporter Jordyn Walker, of Tecumseh; Recreation Leader Amy Larson, of Tecumseh; Song Leader Seth Jackson, of Bethel and Historian Hazel Smith, of Earlsboro.

Awards included: county medals, SED Horse Show awards, record book awards, state record book awards, Certified Volunteer recognition, county Volunteers of the Year, county 4-H officers and ambassadors recognition, Kiwanis Outstanding Citizen award, 4-H trip winner, Outstanding First year 4-Hers, Outstanding Junior 4-Hers, Outstanding Senior 4-Hers, emerald awards, retiring of 2012 Hall of Fame portraits and Senior Hall of Fame awards.