Marshall to serve three-year term on state bar association board.

Shawnee attorney James R. Marshall has been elected to serve a three-year term on the Oklahoma Bar Association’s Board of Governors. Election results were announced recently at the OBA’s 109th annual meeting in Oklahoma City.

Marshall is a partner at Henson & Marshall PLLC in Shawnee. His main areas of practice include estate planning, real property and commercial law, and he is a former president of the Pottawatomie County Bar Association.

He is a former U.S. Air Force Military Intelligence Officer. After graduating law school, he served as an active duty Air Force judge advocate general from 1979 to 1983. He continued his service as an Air National Guard judge advocate from 1983 through 2006, retiring as a brigadier general. During that time he served as senior Air National Guard judge advocate at Air Mobility Command and Air Combat Command, overseeing Air National Guard attorneys in those commands worldwide. He provided oversight post-Sept. 11, 2001, in those commands on issues including training, mobilization, deployment and operational law.

He is involved at the national and community level, serving as a trustee of the Air Force Judge Advocate General’s School Foundation. He is past president and current member of the Shawnee Lion’s Club and a former district chairman of the Boy Scouts. He and his wife, Karen Henson, have practiced law together in Shawnee since 1983 and have two adult children, Kimberly and Scott. He earned his law degree from the OU College of Law in 1979.

He will be officially sworn into office Jan. 10, 2014, in the Ceremonial Courtroom at the state Capitol. His role in OBA leadership is a voluntary position in which he will serve while continuing his law practice. He will represent Supreme Court Judicial District Eight, which is comprised of Coal, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Noble, Okfuskee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie and Seminole counties.

Renée DeMoss of Tulsa will serve as the 2014 OBA president. David A. Poarch Jr. of Norman will fill the role of president-elect, and Susan S. Shields of Oklahoma City will serve as vice president. Shawnee lawyer James T. “Jim” Stuart, who serves as OBA president in 2013, will remain on the OBA Board of Governors for one year as immediate past president.