Shawnee attorney elected to three-year term.

Shawnee attorney James R. Marshall was among nine attorneys sworn into the Oklahoma Bar Association Board of Governors recently.

Marshall will serve a three-year term as board member representing Supreme Court Judicial District Eight, which is comprised of Coal, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Noble, Okfuskee, Payne, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie and Seminole counties.

Marshall is a partner at Henson & Marshall PLLC in Shawnee. His main areas of practice include estate planning, real property and commercial law, and he is a former president of the Pottawatomie County Bar Association.

He is a former U.S. Air Force military intelligence officer who served as an Air Force judge advocate general after becoming a lawyer. He and his wife, Karen Henson, have practiced law together in Shawnee since 1983. He earned his law degree from the OU College of Law in 1979.

OBA 2013 President Jim Stuart of Shawnee took the oath of office to serve on the board for a one-year term as immediate past president. Stuart is a Shawnee native who practices with the firm of Stuart, Clover, Duran, Thomas and Vorndran, LLP. He maintains a primarily civil litigation practice, handling many cases in estate planning and probate as well as real property law.

He was elected to the OBA Board of Governors in 2008 and served a three-year term. He was elected OBA president-elect in 2011. He is a 1978 graduate of the TU College of Law and a 1975 of graduate of the University of Central Oklahoma.

Other state bar association officers sworn in Friday were Tulsa attorney Renée DeMoss, president; David Poarch, Norman, president-elect; and Susan S. Shields, Oklahoma City, vice president.

Other OBA Board of Governors members sworn in for three-year terms were Deirdre O’Neil Dexter of Sand Springs, John W. Kinslow of Lawton and Kevin T. Sain of Idabel. OBA Young Lawyers Division Chairperson Kaleb Hennigh of Enid took the oath of office to serve on the board for one year.