Ten candidates have filed for the open House of Representatives District 28 seat. The primary election is scheduled March 7 and the election on May 9.

The three-day filing period ended Wednesday at the Oklahoma State Election Board.

The special election is needed to fill District 28, a seat that was recently vacated with the resignation of newly-re-elected Rep. Tom Newell.

The Republican candidates are: Billy Choate, 50, Seminole, Daniel J. Matthews, 36, Meeker; Zack Taylor, 33, Seminole; and Mike Matlock, 59, Prague.

Candidates filing as Democrats are: Steve Barnes, 60, Wewoka; Jason Leonard, 50, Seminole; Yasminda Choate, 37, Sasakwa; Blake Cummings, 59, Maud; and Marilyn Rainwater, 62, Seminole.

Libertarian: Cody Presley, 39, Wewoka.