Community Renewal of Pottawatomie County is one of two dozen Oklahoma organizations that are now finalists for a $10,000 award and the title of the state’s top nonprofit, thanks to the prestigious Oklahoma Nonprofit Excellence (ONE) Awards, annually presented by the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits. Community Renewal of Pottawatomie County helps neighbors restore community through intentional relationships.

“I am thrilled that CRPC has been selected as a finalist for a ONE Award! Our staff has worked tirelessly throughout our community since launching in April 2016. This honor is a significant validation of our mission.” said Brandon Dyer, Executive Director of Community Renewal.

On April 29, the 24 finalists will join supporters at Tulsa’s Renaissance Tulsa Hotel & Convention Center to celebrate and hear the announcement of winners at The Tenth Annual ONE Awards. Finalists are divided into eight mission categories and receive $5,000, with category winners receiving $7,500. At the end of the evening, an overall winner receives $10,000 and the title of the top nonprofit in the state. In total, organizations receive $150,000 to recognize the impact of their charitable work throughout the state. In April, the Oklahoma Center for Nonprofits will have given $1.5 million dollars to more than 150 Oklahoma nonprofits thanks to the ONE Awards.

This year, the Center will recognize the work of all past winners as part of the 10-year anniversary celebration. The 2017 ONE Awards are being chaired by Tulsans Billie and Howard Barnett. The Barnetts, no stranger to nonprofit leadership in Oklahoma, said they were honored to chair the prestigious event, the only one of its kind in the state.

“This is one of the best nights of the year for nonprofits,” Billie Barnett said. “Every single person in the room is so enthusiastic. There is such an energy there. It’s indescribable. And best of all, every nonprofit honored goes home a winner thanks to the generosity of our visionary sponsors.”

“Being a ONE Award finalist will raise awareness of our society's overlooked epidemic, the quiet erosion of meaningful relationships.  Intentional, caring relationships provide the foundation upon which all healthy communities rest.” Said Dyer. “This award and recognition will help us paint this picture of hope, block by block.”

Out of almost 19,000 nonprofits statewide, only 24 were named finalists. 

Awards are presented in the following eight categories:

·       Arts and Humanities

·       Community

·       Education

·       Health Services

·       Self-Sufficiency

·       Seniors

·       Youth Development

·       Open

The ONE Awards Selection Commission, a group of prestigious community leaders from across Oklahoma, determine the finalists. The Commission, chaired by David Hogan, includes, Kathie Coyle, Nance Diamond, J. Jerry Dickman, Lisa Greenlee, Kim Henry, Phil Lakin, Jr., Frank Merrick, Polly Nichols, Meg Salyer, Wendi Schuur and Mary Kate Wilson.

“The finalists are recognized, not merely for their efforts to better their community, but for their quality of process toward that effort,” said David Hogan, Chairman of the ONE Awards Selection Commission. “From top level management to part time staff, these are committed individuals working together for the greater good of all Oklahomans.”

To purchase tickets or for sponsorship information for the 2017 ONE Awards, please call (800) 338-1798 or visit The Renaissance Tulsa Hotel and Convention Center is located at 6808 South 107th East Avenue, Tulsa, Oklahoma 74133.

The ONE Awards sponsors include the Potts Family Foundation, The Barnett Family Foundation, Boeing, The H.A. and Mary K. Chapman Charitable Foundations, The Chickasaw Nation, Chahta Foundation, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma, Cherokee Nation, Moran Family Foundation, Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation and The Anne and Henry Zarrow Foundation.