MARION, Indiana – Oklahoma Baptist established three new meet records and ran away with the NCCAA Men's Indoor Track and Field National Championship Saturday.

The Bison scored 174 points and beat runner-up Bethel by 56 points.

OBU was awarded the Coaching Staff of the Year, honoring Ford Mastin, Matt Kennedy, Mark Heard and Pete Kron.

In the 60-meter hurdles, Kenneth Combs ran a time of 8.10, breaking the 2014 record of 8.11.

Jordan Patterson broke the previous long jump record of 7.43m from 2013 with a leap of 7.51m.

The 4x400m relay team of Blake Bartlett, Combs, Clay Shepperson and Jywayne Allen broke the 2014 record of 3:21.10 with a time of 3:20.25.

Shepperson also won the 400 meters in 48.66 and the 800 meters in 1:55.56. Ayoub Akil was second in the 800 at 1:56.18, followed by Sam Smith in ninth at 1:58.97, Tommy Uglean in 17th at 2:02.53 and Jordan Masterson in 23rd and 2:05.83.

Following Shepperson in the 400 were Allen in second at 49.61 and Matthew Giudice in 14th at 51.92.

Patterson also won the triple jump, clearing 47 feet, 9.25 inches.

Bartlett won the 60 meters in 8.76 seconds, followed by T.J. Carmichael in fifth at 6.94 and Combs in seventh at 6.98.

The 4x800 relay team of Smith, Giudice, Uglean and Allen was second at 7:58.18.

Andrew Worley took third in the hepathlon with 4083 points and Christopher Walker was fifth at 3898.

Nathan Crowson was seventh in the mile at 4:25.19, followed by Jacob Janzen in 11th at 4:32.80 and Masterson in 14th at 4:40.28.


Lady Bison Win NCCAA Title


MARION, Indiana – Oklahoma Baptist dominated the field in the NCCAA Women's Indoor Track and Field Championships Saturday.

The Lady Bison scored 183.5 points and won the meet by 115 points. OBU was awarded the Coaching Staff of the Year, honoring Ford Mastin, Matt Kennedy, Mark Heard and Pete Kron.

The Lady Bison 4x800 relay team of Shimoya Currie, Sarah Gilstad, Iman Dumas and Destinee Allen won the national title in 9:19.49, setting a new meet record.

Miranda Dent won the mile in 5:03.94 and Katelyn Fritz scored from fifth at 5:14.34.

Leah Molter won the 60 meter hurdles in 8.76 seconds with Denise Coroiescu getting second at 8.85 and Lacey Herbert eighth at 9.37.

Abby Hoover won the 3000 meters in 10:14.29 for her second distance title of the meet. Sydney Lawrence was second at 10:17.42, followed by Dent in third at 10:19.88, Emily Sechrist in sixth at 10:30.96 and Kaylee Large in 11th at 10:41.25.

Dumas earned All-America honors with a third-place finish at 2:18.17 in the 800 meters with Allen (fourth, 2:18.98), Currie (fifth, 2:19) and Kelsey Doty (seventh 2:20.76) also scoring.

The 4x400 relay team of McKae Mitchell, Breanna Hurlbut, Molter and Kysha Miller placed fourth at 4:01.14.

Abby Mayfield took fourth in the 400 meters at 57.96, followed by Brenda Barnett in fifth at 59.09, Hurlbut in eighth at 1:0013, Miller in 12th at 1:00.56, Amellia Coffey in 17th at 1:02.02 and Jade Mitchell in 20th at 1:02.44.

McKae Mitchell was fifth in the 60 meters at 7.91 seconds.

Rachel Wedige placed 11th in the high jump at 4-11.75.