Today is the last day for candidates to announce their run for office. The statewide and City of Shawnee candidate filing period began Wednesday.

Today is the last day for candidates to announce their run for office. The statewide and City of Shawnee candidate filing period began Wednesday.

Jeannie Stover, Secretary of the Pottawatomie County Election Board, said filing starts at 8 a.m. The deadline for filing as a candidate is 5 p.m. today –– no exceptions.

Candidates for state offices file with the Secretary of the State Election Board in Oklahoma City. Candidates for county offices file with the Secretary of the County Election Board.

Stover said that the following Pottawatomie County offices with four-year terms will be filled this year.

Day One and Two filings:

Pottawatomie County Commissioner District Two

• Randy Thomas, Republican from Macomb

• Russell McCaslin, Republican from Wanette

Pottawatomie County Clerk

• Raeshel Flewallen, Democrat from Shawnee

Pottawatomie Court Clerk

• Valerie Ueltzen, Democrat from Shawnee

Pottawatomie County Sheriff

• Mike Booth, Republican from McLoud


Office of Mayor, four-year term

• Richard Finley

Commissioner of the First Ward, (unexpired two-year term)

• Dub Bushong (Filed Thursday)

• Dell Kerbs (Filed Thursday)

• William D. Kirkland (Filed Thursday)

Commissioner of the Second Ward, four-year term

• Ron Gillham Sr.

• Linda Agee

Commissioner of the Third Ward, four-year term

• James Harrod

Commissioner of the Fourth Ward, four-year term

• Darren Keith Rutherford


In Lincoln County, the offices of County Clerk, Court Clerk, Sheriff and District Two County Commissioner are also up for election this year.

For more election-related information, call the Pottawatomie County Election Board at (405) 273-8376, or visit

Those running for state offices are:

Corporation Commissioner:

• Richard Morrissette, 59, Democrat from Oklahoma City

• Dana Murphy, 56, Republican from Edmond

State Senator –– District 17

• Ron Sharp, 63, Republican from Shawnee

U.S. Representative:

District 1

• Jim Bridenstine, 40, Republican from Tulsa

• Evelyn L. Rogers, 63, Republican from Tulsa

• David Matthew Hullum, 33, Independent from Tulsa

• Tom Atkinson, 66, Republican from Tulsa (Filed Thursday)

District 2

• Paul E. Schiefelbein, 57, Democrat from Tahlequah

• Markwayne Mullin, 38, Republican form Westville

• Jarrin Jackson, 30, Republican from Claremore (Filed Thursday)

• John McCarthy, 46, Independent from Afton (Filed Thursday)

District 3

• Frank D. Lucas, 56, Republican from Cheyenne

• Desiree Brown, 32, Republican from Hennessey

District 4

• Tom Cole, 66, Republican from Moore

• James Taylor, 57, Republican from Norman (Filed Thursday)

• Sevier White, 67, Libertarian from Norman (Filed Thursday)

District 5

• Tom Guild, 61, Democrat from Edmond

• Steve Russell, 52, Republican from Choctaw

• Al McAffrey, 67, Democrat from Oklahoma City (Filed Thursday)


State Representative:

District 26

• Nick Atwood, 37, Democrat from Shawnee

District 27

• Josh Cockroft, 27, Republican from Wanette

• Lynn Medford, 62, Republican from Norman

• Trey Baker, 32, Republican from Tecumseh

• John Karlin, 70, Democrat from Tecumseh (Filed Thursday)

District 28

• Yasminda Choate, 36, Democrat from Sasakwa

• Tom Newell, 47, Republican from Seminole

• Marilyn Rainwater, 61, Democrat from Seminole (Filed Thursday)

Watch for an updated list in tomorrow's Shawnee News-Star.