Bushong, William D. Kirkland and Tana Gamble each put their hats in the ring, but Bushong took the lead early and held onto it all night.

Some new faces are about to join current Ward 5 Commissioner Lesa Shaw and Ward 6 Commissioner Micheal Dykstra on the seven-member Shawnee City Commission –– two will be new Mayor Richard Finley and Ward 4 Commissioner Darren Rutherford, who both won unopposed in April.

New commissioners will begin their terms Sept. 5, City Manager Justin Erickson said.

Due to the commission's inability to fill the Ward 1 seat that has been vacant for more than a year, three candidates filed to finish the remaining two years of the term.

Tuesday's election just determined who would fill the empty seat –– Dub Bushong.

Bushong, William D. Kirkland and Tana Gamble each put their hats in the ring –– as did Coney Island owner Dell Kerbs, but he withdrew a day later to file for the position of state Representative for District 26 –– which was also a primary race voted on Tuesday.

Bushong won the seat with 2,120 votes, or 57.27 percent, while Kirkland received 824 votes, or 22.26 percent, and Gamble received 758 votes, or 20.48 percent. There were 3,702 votes recorded for the race, according to the Oklahoma Election Board, at ok.gov/elections.

Gamble said, “Everyone ran a good race.”

She congratulated her opponents and thanked everyone for their support.

As of press time, Bushong and Kirkland could not be reached for comment.

Read more about how Wards 2 and 3 turned out. Visit online at news-star.com.

You can reach Vicky O. Misa at (405) 214-3962.