The McLoud School Foundation presented five $1,000 and one $500 scholarships at the McLoud High School Academic Awards Program held on Monday, May 22, 2017. The following students were presented scholarships by MSF Scholarship Committee chairperson, Elfrige Nikkel and committee members Rhonda Coffman and Janice Shields:

Angelina I. Ropp, MSF Joselene Chandler Scholarship;  Rachel E. Hubbard and Bailey L. Bates -MSF General Scholarships;  Ilana N. Kutin- MSF Dennis Harris Scholarship;  Tanner C. Jordan - MSF Allen Lewis Scholarship and Legus T. Salazar-MSF Vocational/Technical Scholarship. 

The MSF was formed to provide yearly scholarships for graduating seniors.  Donations to the Foundation are tax deductible, as the organization has a 501 C3 designation. Donations can be mailed to:  MSF, PO Box 802, McLoud, OK 74851.  

 The applicant must complete a scholarship application by the deadline.  To be eligible, the student must have a 3.0 overall grade point average, be a senior, be graduating in May, 2017, be a U.S. citizen who has displayed leadership and responsibility.  The application requires a 500 word minimum narrative that discusses their career objectives and indicate how this scholarship award will help them to obtain their goals, plus tell why they feel that they are a good candidate for this scholarship.  The student is required to attach a letter of recommendation or support from a current or former teacher, school administrator, clergy member or business person.  In addition, a current transcript is required with the scholarship application.  The scholarship applications were judged with the names removed, thus eliminating any biases and insuring each applicant will be equally reviewed by the members of the MSF Scholarship Committee.  They were judged by the following criteria:  Grades, Activities/Leadership, Citizenship/Community Involvement, Essay and Need.  Each scholarship check will be awarded in the spring of 2018 after the student has successfully completed the fall semester at an accredited school of higher learning and upon presentation of their fall transcript, with the check being paid directly to the school.