OKLAHOMA CITY – State lawmakers at the Capitol on Monday honored Oklahoma Department of Corrections employees and a volunteer for bravery and exemplary service to the state.

Lawmakers gave standing ovations to 14 ODOC employees and one volunteer on the floor of the State House and Senate. The group also got to meet for a photo with Governor Mary Fallin, who congratulated them on their recognition, and thanked them for their service to the people of Oklahoma.

“Oklahoma Department of Corrections staff and our volunteers do the most with the least every day,” ODOC Director Joe M. Allbaugh said. “We are honored to work side-by-side with these individuals each day.”

In the Senate, Sens. Wayne Shaw, R-Grove, and Jack Fry, R-Midwest City, sponsored the resolutions honoring employee award winners. In the House, Reps. Bobby Cleveland, R-Slaughterville, and Greg Babinec, R-Cushing, sponsored the resolutions.

The state’s fifth-largest agency honored its staff and volunteers last November at its annual awards ceremony. They include Employee of the Year Michele Minietta, Assistant General Counsel; Teacher of the Year Sherri Toole, Oklahoma State Reformatory; and Nurse of the Year Jody Miller, L.P.N., from William S. Key Correctional Center.

Other employees received accolades for bravery, quick thinking and leadership, including Sgts. Larry Henson and Chris Thompson from Joseph Harp Correctional Center. The two men are credited with helping save the life of an inmate who had cut his own throat.

Others include seven Oklahoma State Penitentiary staff who saved the life of an inmate who tried to hang himself.

Also honored were:

Sgt. Ty Hull, Mabel Bassett Correctional Center – Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendation

Capt. Mike McMillen, Joseph Harp Correctional Center – Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendation Award

Mark Kent, David Orman, Jr., Christe Quick, Wade Ranes, Chelsea Ronk, Adrian Rouse, and Dana Wilson of Oklahoma State Penitentiary Oklahoma – Oklahoma Department of Corrections Special Commendation Award

Lt. Tyler Broussard, Jim E. Hamilton Correctional Center – Meritorious Service Award

Sgt. Tammy Werner, Dick Conner Correctional Center – Correctional Officer of the Year

Lt. Bryan Cox, Eddie Warrior Correctional Center – Correctional Officer Supervisor of the Year

Cassandra Wylie from Northwest District Probation and Parole – Probation and Parole Officer of the Year

Christie Luther, The RISE Program – Agency Volunteer of the Year

Peaceful Animal Adoption Shelter of Vinita – the Volunteer Organization of the Year