Shawnee attorney Brandi N. Nowakowski took an oath on Friday to serve a one-year term as the Oklahoma Bar Association’s Young Lawyers Division chairperson. She was among nine attorneys sworn in to serve on the OBA’s 17-member Board of Governors during a ceremony at the Oklahoma Judicial Center.

Nowakowski is a senior associate with the law firm of Stuart & Clover in Shawnee. She focuses her practice on probate, adult guardianship, estate planning and real property matters.

Nowakowski received her B.B.A. in management from OU where she graduated magna cum laude in May 2006. She received her J.D. from the OU College of Law in May 2010 and was admitted to the practice of law before all Oklahoma state courts in September 2010. She was later admitted to practice before the United States District Court in the Western District of Oklahoma. She additionally serves on the Supreme Court of the Absentee Shawnee Tribe.

Nowakowski has actively served on the YLD Board of Directors since January 2012, having served as the District 8 director, secretary, treasurer and chair-elect. In addition, she has served as YLD Community Service chairperson since 2013. She has also served on the OBA Law Day Committee and has been selected to serve on the Credentials Committee for the OBA Annual House of Delegates Meeting each year since 2012. Additionally, she served on the Clients’ Security Fund and OBA Budget committees.

Also taking oaths Friday were Charles W. Chesnut of Miami, president; Susan B. Shields of Oklahoma City, president-elect; Lane R. Neal of Oklahoma City, vice president; and Kimberly K. Hays of Tulsa, immediate past president.

Sworn in to the OBA Board of Governors to represent their respective Supreme Court judicial districts are David T. McKenzie of Oklahoma City, Timothy E. DeClerck of Enid and Andrew E. Hutter of Norman. They will serve three-year terms. Also sworn in to a three-year term as member-at-large was Miles T. Pringle of Oklahoma City.  

OBA leadership roles are voluntary positions in which lawyers serve while continuing to practice law. The board meets monthly and governs the association.