Shawnee attorney Brandi Nowakowski will serve as the Oklahoma Bar Association’s 2020 vice president. She will be a part of the OBA’s 17-member Board of Governors, which meets monthly and governs the association.

Nowakowski is a senior associate with the law firm of Stuart & Clover in Shawnee. She focuses her practice on probate, adult guardianship, estate planning and real property matters. She, her husband, Chris, and their two sons, Ethan and Zachary, reside in Shawnee. Nowakowski received her BBA in management from the University of Oklahoma, where she graduated magna cum laude in May 2006. She received her J.D. from the OU College of Law in May 2010 and was admitted to the practice of law before all Oklahoma state courts in September 2010. She was later admitted to practice before the United States District Court for the Western District of Oklahoma. Additionally, she serves on the Supreme Court of the Absentee Shawnee Tribe.

Nowakowski has actively served on the Young Lawyers Division (YLD) Board of Directors since January 2012, having served as the District 8 director, secretary, treasurer, chair-elect and chair. In addition, she has served as YLD Community Service Committee chairperson since 2013. She has also previously served on the OBA Law Day Committee and the Credentials Committee for the OBA House of Delegates from 2012-2018. Additionally, she served on the Clients’ Security Fund Task Force and the OBA Budget Committee.

Susan B. Shields of Oklahoma City will fill the role of president and Michael C. Mordy of Ardmore will serve as president-elect. Miami attorney Charles W. Chesnut, who serves as the 2019 OBA president, will remain on the OBA Board of Governors for one year as immediate past president.

Also elected to the OBA Board of Governors to represent their respective Supreme Court judicial districts are Michael J. Davis of Durant, Joshua A. Edwards of Ada and Robin L. Rochelle of Lawton. They will serve three-year terms. Amber Peckio Garrett of Tulsa will also serve a three-year term as a member at large. Jordan Haygood of Oklahoma City will serve a one-year term as OBA Young Lawyers Division chairperson.

New officers and Board of Governors members will take office Jan. 1, 2020. OBA leadership roles are voluntary positions in which lawyers serve while continuing to practice law.


Other bar business conducted at Annual Meeting included the presentation of awards and the House of Delegates actions, in which Title Examination Standards were approved. The House of Delegates also approved one resolution regarding mandatory continuing legal education requirements.

The 18,000-member Oklahoma Bar Association, headquartered in Oklahoma City, was created by the Oklahoma Supreme Court to advance the administration of justice and to foster and maintain learning, integrity, competence, public service and high standards of conduct among Oklahoma’s legal community.