SHAWNEE, Oklahoma – Oklahoma Baptist didn’t get to pose with trophies after hosting the inaugural Great American Conference Track and Field Championships, but did claim 16 event titles before the meet ended Saturday.

The GAC coaches voted to keep OBU from being eligible for the team title. Had they not done so, the OBU women would have scored 229 points and won the meet by 62 points. The OBU men would have taken second.

OBU opened Saturday with a win in the men’s 4x100 relay with T. J. Carmichael, Kenneth Combs, Devontrae Young and Blake Bartlett winning with a 40.63.

They closed with a win in the 4x400 with JyWayne Allen, Sam Smith, Kenneth Combs and Clay Shepperson.

Bartlett also won the 100 meters in 10.37 seconds and the 200 meters in 20.68 seconds. T.J. Carmichael was third in the 200 at 21.42 and the 100 in 10.58. Bartlett’s times were No. 1 in the NCCAA with Carmichael getting the No. 2 200 meter time.

Combs also won the 110 high hurdles in 14.36 seconds.

Clay Shepperson won the 400 meters in 47.78 seconds, which is the No. 3 time in the NCCAA this season.

Ryan Womack won the pole vault at 15-9.

Ayoub Akil was second in the 800 at 1:54.13 for the No. 4 NCCAA time this year.

Brynden Pitzer was third in the discus at 149-1.

The Lady Bison 4x400 relay won in 3:54.04 with Breanna Hurlbut, Kysha Miller, Brenda Barnett and Abby Mayfield.

Kim Robinson won the long jump at 18-10.5 (the new NCCAA No. 4 distance) and the shot put at 39-7. Hollie Johnson was third in the shot at 35-10.5.

Leah Molter won the 100 hurdles at 14.27 and Brenda Barnett won the 400 hurdles in 1:02.19 with Molter in third at 1:04.62. Barnett’s time is the new NCCAA top mark.

Iman Dumas won the 800 meters in 2:15.01 with OBU going 1-5 with Destinee Allen (2:15.25), Sarah Gilstad (21:15.36), Kelsey Doty (2:17.18) and Katelyn Fritz (2:19.13).

Abby Hoover took the 5000 meters in 17:40.27 with Sydney Lawrence getting third at 18:05.93.

Miranda Dent was second in the 1500 at 4:34.72.

Abby Mayfield was second (58.14) and Breanna Hurlbut third (58.45) in the 400.

Rachel Wedige got second in the high jump at 5-1 and Catherine Roth was second in the pole vault at 9-10.

McKae Mitchell was third in the 200 at 25.01.

On Thursday, Lacey Herbert won the heptathlon and became the first athlete to win an event in the Great American Conference’s inaugural championship meet.

Herbert was later joined as a GAC champion by teammates Emily Sechrist and Dakota Hummingbird. Sechrist won the 3,000 meter steeplechase and Hummingbird captured the women’s hammer throw.

Herbert won the heptathlon with 4,422 points with Emily Montgomery finishing fourth at 3,875 and Carleigh Neal, sixth at 3,586. Herbert improved on her No. 2 NCCAA mark, Montgomery moved up to No. 5 and Neal up to No. 7 in the NCCAA rankings.

Sechrist was the No. 3 seed in the 3000 steeplechase but kept favorite Virginia Ney in close range before making her move with three laps to go and taking the race by nearly 20 seconds. That time moved Sechrist into the top spot in the NCCAA.

Hummingbird led the hammer after the first toss, but needed her 148-foot, four-inch throw in the second round to claim the title. Montana Hummingbird placed fourth at 130-1. While Dakota has a better distance this season, Montana moved up to No. 15 in the NCCAA.

Katrina Horner was second in the javelin at 113-05 with Dosha Owens placing sixth at 90-4. Horner moved up to sixth in the NCCAA.

Andrew Worley (5700) and Kolten Speaks (5097) finished second and third, respectively, in the decathlon. Those marks moved Worley to second and Speaks to fourth in the NCCAA.