SHAWNEE – Oklahoma Baptist qualified one individual and one relay team for the 2018 NCAA Division II Women's Indoor Track and Field National Championships, the NCAA announced Tuesday afternoon.

Competition will take place March 9-10 on the campus of Pittsburg State at the Robert W. Plaster Center in Pittsburg, Kansas. A total of 540 participants, 270 men and 270 women, will compete in the championships.

Abby Hoover qualified in the 5000-meter run with the No. 13 time in the country at 16:54.81. OBU also qualified a 4x400-meter relay team with the No. 11 time in the event this season. Kya Barnes, JoziRose Mayfield, Sherine Van Der Westhuizen and McKae Mitchell punched a ticket to the national championship with a time of 3:45.81.

This is the first year OBU is eligible for NCAA postseason competition, but the Lady Bison are familiar with postseason meets after sweeping the NCCAA indoor and outdoor championships for the past two seasons. The program is the most decorated on Bison Hill, with 12 total national championships.